8 new recordings keep Arkansas music fresh

todaySeptember 15, 2022 1

share close

Loads of Arkansas musicians have spent the summer time engaged on new songs, and now all these jams are hitting the streets (or streaming companies) which is sweet information for music followers. From full-length albums to singles and EPs, there are some actually cool releases out now. Listed here are a couple of:

◼️ Harmful Idiots, “I Killify You” — Fronted by singer-songwriter-guitarist Aaron Sarlo, Harmful Idiots can all the time be counted on to ship good, immensely catchy ’90s-tinged alt-rock, and “I Killify You” is not any exception. Sarlo is joined by Randy Harsey (drums) and Jake Rutherford (bass) for this four-song EP, which was launched Aug. 5 on Sarlo’s Authentic Businessman Information.

It is a mainline hit of power-trio adrenaline as Sarlo rages towards the horror of mass shootings on “Sunny With a Likelihood of Bullets,” goes full-on Queens of the Stone Age on “Rope” and praises the ability of love on the anthemic “Wi-Fi.” After which there’s “If You Do not Smoke Pot, I Do not Belief You,” an ode to weed that begins as a type of electrified hoe-down then someway morphs right into a bona fide stadium rocker earlier than returning to the quaint, nation riff from the start, all in just below 4 minutes. It is an absolute hoot.

    Suckerpuncher, “By no means Nothing Left to Say” (Particular to the Democrat-Gazette/Isaac Alexander)
◼️ Suckerpuncher, “By no means Nothing Left to Say” — Little Rock singer-songwriter Matt Boone makes his debut on this shimmering LP of 90’s-tinged indie-pop. Boone, who works as a social employee and psychotherapist, had a couple of songs and was trying to collaborate when he handed alongside a couple of demos to drummer Dave Hoffpauir. They have been joined by bassist Jason Weinheimer at Weinheimer’s Fellowship Corridor Sound studios and recording started (others concerned with the recording embody Tom Peters, Nick Gallante and Cory Myler).

It is a kind of data that provides up revelations upon every pay attention. “Tenterhooks,” the propulsive opening monitor, has a candy little Automobiles-inspired synth line; “Joyless Factor” is a Matthew Candy-type indie rocker; “One thing Lovely,” a lyric which supplies the document its title, has Boone singing about “one thing stunning to kill the ache,” a picture that type of haunts me. And stick round for “Mercy,” a young want for power, security and happiness and the proper closing monitor to this promising debut.

  photo  “Holy Souls” by Little Rock band Fox Inexperienced (Particular to the Democrat-Gazette/Isaac Alexander)
◼️ Fox Inexperienced, “Holy Souls” — Hoffpauir can also be behind the package with Fox Inexperienced, the roots-pop outfit that features singer-guitarist Wade Derden, guitarist Cam Patterson (chancellor on the College of Arkansas for Medical Sciences), keyboardist Gaines Fricke and bassist Jay Gentry. “Holy Souls” additionally options Weinheimer on guitars and organ, backing vocalists Genine Perez and Sara Thomas and horns by Artwork Edmaiston, Martin McCain and Marc Franklin, the latter of whom additionally organized the horn part, which brings a Southern soul vibe to the occasion.

The album, with songs written by Derden and Patterson, is the follow-up to the 2020 debut, “The Longest April,” and this factor packs a punch. “Feast of All Saints” is a revved-up ripper; the title reduce is a bleary-eyed ballad and the centerpiece may be the rambling, hypnotic blues of “Howlin’ (AKA Howlin’ Wolf Speaking Blues),” that options backing howls and vocals by Perez. “Then There’s You,” a duet between Derden and Perez, has a swaying groove and is a tribute to good love and good occasions.

◼️ Rocket Coma, “Vs. the Finish of the World” — This Fayetteville six-piece returns with a brand new dose of punked-up, garage-psych, fuzztone freakouts. “Vs. the Finish of the World” is 10 songs of superb, barbed-wire weirdness that reminds us of one thing between early Flaming Lips, Useless Kennedys, the Melvins and Rocket from the Crypt.

From the highly effective buzz and crash of “The Finish” and the spooky “Quarantine” to the surreal “Gameboy,” the tip of the world does not stand an opportunity towards the mighty Rocket Coma.

  photo  “Southern Women” is the most recent single by Little Rock band Adventureland. (Particular to the Democrat-Gazette/Lexi Adams)
◼️ Adventureland, “Southern Women” — The most recent single from Little Rock indie-rockers Adventureland — Nate Drahn, Daniel Grear, Travis Kish — is a gender-bending anthem of queer pleasure and longing that’s a kind of tracks you placed on repeat and hearken to again and again. I can think about it being a joyous singalong jam in live performance.

The band says a brand new album is on the way in which and will likely be combined by Bennett Littlejohn (Hovvdy, Sinae Vesell, Katy Kirby), who additionally performed pedal metal on “Southern Women.” The as-yet-untitled document needs to be out this fall or winter and would be the follow-up to 2020’s glorious “Hopes of Closure.”

◼️ Goon Des Garcons*, “Purist*” — The Little Rock rapper, who data for Def Jam, dropped this slinky new banger final Friday. It is simply two minutes lengthy however packs quite a lot of data — lyrically and sonically — in that quick span. No phrase if there’s an LP on the way in which, however this monitor slaps laborious.

◼️ Brian Nahlen (that includes Steve James Indie) “We’re the Enemy” — North Little Rock singer-songwriter Nahlen throws a curve ball on this monitor. It is a slow-jam, jazzy, R&B association that finds Nahlen despairing over the state of the world earlier than concluding that the enemy is us. At concerning the midway level, nonetheless, Nahlen’s sleepy baritone offers option to rapper Steve James Indie, who is available in blazing over the laid-back groove and whose raging verses flip extra private and pressing. The result’s a stone stunner of a tune.

  photo  “Reminiscence Lane” is the brand new single by Little Rock duo Wealthy Hoochies. (Particular to the Democrat-Gazette/Timothy Trice)
◼️ Wealthy Hoochies, “Reminiscence Lane” — Little Rock feminine rap duo Wealthy Hoochies, that includes cousins Jaye and Shugga, honor these misplaced to gun violence on this emotional monitor. “This tune was written to specific our sympathy on the violence we see each day,” they are saying. “Dropping somebody so pricey to you resulting from gun violence hurts. So we determined to write down about it.”

Source link

Written by: soft fm radio staff

Rate it

Previous post


8-month chase leads to sinking of ‘communist VIPs’ in Samar waters

SAMAR, Philippines – On the shores of Tarangan, an impoverished coastal city on the western coast of the nation’s third-largest island, shades of inexperienced from the mainland and a number of other islands encompass the blue waters of the Samar Sea and, within the distance, the bigger Visayan Sea. Within the pre-dawn hours of August 22, an explosion ripped aside a 10-seater motorized banca lower than two kilometers off the coast of Tarangan city, 16.9 kilometers north of Catbalogan, the […]

todaySeptember 15, 2022 1

error: Content is protected !!